Culturally Speaking…

I just watched one of the most interesting videos on YouTube. This video reminded me how much is out there beyond my own little world. Culturally speaking. I think that we, as a society, get so wrapped up in our little slice of the world, that we can lose sight of what’s out there. There are things that are so ingrained in our culture that it is almost unbelievable that they are not available elsewhere. What started this journey was a series of videos where people from one country tried the snack foods of another country. US tasting UK foods. UK trying US foods. Aussies testing US junk food. US trying Japanese snacks. You get the program. While it was amusing to see the reactions (especially the US tasters), it made me thing about the vast cultural differences we have in a simple concept of food.

Now, after all of those videos, I came across one that just the title boggled my mind. Surely not! No! You mean, these people have never even *seen* a hamburger? Wow! With the vast reach of the Golden Arches Empire and the King-sized influence of its competitor, I thought that that was one concept that had reached everyone in civilization. Apparently I am wrong. Seeing their reactions and hearing their opinions of a food that was, pardon the pun, completely foreign to them was simply fascinating.

This is one of the main reasons I want to travel the world. I need to try their foods. I may not like all of it. In fact, I’m sure there will be many things I try that I will find disgusting, but I will have had a new experience and someone will have shared a little bit of their culture with me.

–Christopher

Leave a Reply

